The Common Buckeye (Junonia coenia)

Buckeye (Junonia coenia)
Buckeye (Junonia coenia)

(Remember, the best way to view all of these posts is to click on the blue headline.)

Another outstanding butterfly that may be found in the Summer and Fall around Kansas City is the Common Buckeye. I remember the first time I came across one, actually several, while walking in a wooded area near my home. I was stunned with the striking beauty of these wonderful creatures, and was amazed that I had never seen one before. The next day, as I was putting a stamp on an envelope, I realized that I had a sheet of stamps with several Buckeyes ready for affixing. No matter, I have been in love with these little guys ever since. What I love about taking pictures is that it causes me to slow down and start seeing what is around me. Here are a few more. As always, you can go to the Buckeye page and see several more images of the Common Buckeye butterflies. The link you just passed should take you there.

Common Buckeye
Leave a Reply

